Published on:

Saturday is the Most Dangerous Day of the Week to Drive in Florida

car accidentIf you or a loved one has been injured in a car accident that was not your fault, you need to seek the help of a seasoned Miami car accident attorney who can help. At our Law Offices, we are dedicated to providing personalized attention throughout the entire legal process.

A new report released by a legal referral site, which analyzed data from the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA), found that Saturday is most dangerous day of the week to drive. The safest day to be on the road, according to the report, is Tuesday. The analysis found that 6,802 people were killed on Saturday out of the 37,461 road deaths that took place in 2016. That was 53 percent higher than the 4,444 deaths that occurred on a Tuesday. The second and third deadliest days on the road were Friday with 5,826 deaths and Sunday with 5,809 deaths. The report also found that the afternoon rush hour period is actually more dangerous than the morning commute.

There could be a number of reasons for this trend. More people tend to be on the roads during the weekends, and drivers are also potentially more careless during these times. Drunk driving seems to be a major reason. NHTSA data reveal that 28 percent of all traffic fatalities in 2016 involved drivers with blood alcohol concentrations of 0.08 percent or higher, the legal limit in Florida and throughout the country. More drunk driving deaths take place on the weekend and at night. Speeding was another major factor in car crash-related deaths.

If you have been injured by someone else’s negligence, you can seek a variety of damages under Florida law. These damages could include compensation for past and future medical bills, lost wages, pain and suffering, disability, and more.

Determining fault is the most important legal issue in the aftermath of a car accident. Under Florida law, you can seek compensation for your injuries if you can establish that the other person was negligent. To establish negligence, you must prove the following elements:

  • The defendant (i.e., the party that caused the accident) owed you a duty of care;
  • The defendant breached the duty of care;
  • The defendant’s breach was a direct cause of the accident; and
  • The plaintiff suffered harm (i.e., bodily injury) or loss (i.e., property damage) as a result.

Just like every other type of claim, car accident claims must be filed within a certain time frame, known as the statute of limitations. The statute of limitations affords plaintiffs a limited time within which they are allowed to file their lawsuit. In Florida, plaintiffs have four years from the date of an accident to file a claim in civil court. Failing to meet this deadline could result in the court refusing to hear your case.

The aftermath of a car accident can affect victims for a lifetime. If you or someone close to you has been hurt in an accident caused by someone else’s negligence, you need to reach out to a Miami car accident attorney at our Law Offices as soon as possible. We can examine the facts of your case and help you pursue the compensation you deserve for your harm. Call us today at 1-877-499-HURT (4878) or feel free to contact us online.

More Blog Posts:

Florida Lawmakers Reconsider Personal Injury Protection Insurance, South Florida Injury Lawyer Blawg, May 2, 2017

Pigs Wander Along Florida Highway After Truck Accident, South Florida Injury Lawyer Blawg, May 2, 2017

Lane Departure Accidents in Florida, South Florida Injury Lawyer Blawg, May 2, 2017

Posted in:
Published on:
Updated:

Comments are closed.