Published on:

Hit and Run Accidents in Florida

hit and runHit and run accidents occur when a vehicle driver strikes a person or an object and fails to stop and identify himself or herself after the incident. In most states, this is considered a crime. Every state has its own laws and penalties pertaining to these types of accidents. Hit and run accidents leave the victim without a way to obtain compensation for injuries or property damage. Dealing with an accident is never easy, but a hit and run adds many other layers of stress to the entire experience.

Under Florida law, the driver of any vehicle involved in a crash is required to immediately stop the vehicle and remain at the scene. Drivers are not permitted to leave the scene until they have provided their names, addresses, and registration numbers for the vehicles they were operating. Additionally, drivers are required to provide their driver’s licenses to any person, driver, or passenger injured as a result of the accident. If possible, drivers must render reasonable assistance to any injured person, including arranging for the person to get medical attention. This can be done simply by calling 911 after the accident.

If a driver fails to abide by the Florida law regarding hit and run accidents, he or she is subject to prosecution for certain charges. If the accident involves property damage, the driver who leaves the scene of the accident may be convicted for a second-degree misdemeanor, which can carry a combination of the following penalties:  60 days in jail, six months of probation, and a fine of up to $500.

If the accident involved bodily injury to another person, a driver who leaves the scene may be convicted of a third-degree felony, punishable by up to five years in prison and a fine of up to $5,000. If the accident involved the death of another person, a driver who leaves the scene may be convicted of a first-degree felony, which can carry a combination of the following penalties:  up to 30 years in prison, 30 years of probation, and a fine of up to $10,000.

If the driver who leaves the scene involving injury or death is found to have been driving under the influence, the offense is subject to a mandatory prison term of two years. In all cases involving death or injury, the driver who leaves the scene is subject to having his or her driver’s license revoked. The court handling the case will decide this matter based on the nature and circumstances of the specific case.

Robert Dixon is an experienced Miami accident attorney who has the knowledge and experience to handle hit and run accidents throughout Florida. We will conduct a thorough investigation to learn the facts and circumstances of the accident, work with prosecutors to coordinate with any criminal case, and keep you informed of the developments every step of the way. We understand that dealing with an accident is difficult for you and your entire family, which is why we try to make the process as efficient as possible. For a free and confidential initial consultation, contact us online or call us today at 1-877-499-HURT (4878).

More Blog Posts:

Florida Laws Pertaining to Settlements for Minors,  South Florida Injury Lawyer Blawg, September 9, 2014

The Different Statute of Limitations in Florida Boating Accident Cases, South Florida Injury Lawyer Blawg, August 26, 2014

Understanding the Seat Belt Defense in Florida Auto Accidents, South Florida Injury Lawyer Blawg, August 13, 2014